Accreditation / ARE

Final review discussion

The School of Architecture maintains accredited status through the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which reviews the curriculum, facility, faculty, and program resources annually.  In addition, the NAAB conducts an intensive site visit every eight years.  The SoA has maintained full accreditation standards as prescribed by this board and includes the following required statement:

"In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure.  The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture.  A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards."

"Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission.  However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree."

The School of Architecture at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

Next accreditation visit for all programs: Spring 2024


Additional Information:


Architectural Experience Program:

Architectural Experience Program (AXP) Details published by NCARB


Architect Registration Examination:

Architect Registration Examination (ARE) Pass Rates published by NCARB