Cameron Corbett

Hometown: Wilmington, NC
Bachelor of Arts in Dance; Minor in Communications
2020

Give a little general information about yourself: how did you become interested in dance? How old were you when you began dancing?
Ever since I can remember, I have always been dancing. I started off doing Mommy and Me classes, then recreational, and started competing at the age of 6. I am trained in various styles such as Jazz, Hip Hop, Ballet, Lyrical, Contemporary, Musical Theater, Acro, and Tap. Around the age of 15, I started assisting with recreational classes at Evolution Dance Complex in my hometown, and then at the age of 16, I had my first recreational class. Now I am a dance teacher at Evolution Dance Complex where I teach technique and choreography. I am also a dance teacher here at Zeal for Life Company where I teach jazz and contemporary technique!

What kind of career do you hope to have?
For my career path, I plan on continuing teaching and choreographing at different studios. As a dancer, I also hope to continue taking classes and learning. I love going to conventions throughout the year, so I hope to do more of those. Later in my career, I would love to own a dance studio somewhere and really creating something of my own so that I can share my passion with others.

What is your favorite thing about UNC Charlotte, the College of Arts + Architecture, or the department you are in?
UNC Charlotte has so many opportunities to be involved which I love so much. I use to be a Gold Duster and it was great to be able to dance on the basketball court, and the football field showing school spirit and doing what I love. In the Dance Department we are truly like a little family which makes things so much easier. College is hard as it is, and being surrounded by my peers who are encouraging, and faculty who really care about you, makes things so much better.

Do you participate in any community cultural activities or work in the Charlotte arts or design community? If so, please describe.
As I said before, I use to be a Gold Duster which was an amazing experience. I also am apart of a dance organization called Range of Motion on campus. This organization is open to the UNCC community. We meet between 2-3 times a week, and we set pieces on each other. We also perform in various places throughout the year around campus, and at times off-campus at different events. 

When you are not in class, studying, working or rehearsing, what do you like to do for fun?
When I am not in class, studying, working, or at rehearsals, I enjoy doing things like watching Hulu and Netflix. I also enjoy doing things for relaxation like hiking, getting my nails done, online shopping, and coloring mandalas in my adult coloring book. When I am with my friends we enjoy things like watching movies together, getting lunch, and just enjoying each other's company.