Danielle Walcott

Danielle Walcott
Hometown: Greensboro, N.C.
Bachelor of Arts in Music
2021

Give a little general information about yourself: How did you become interested in music?    

I come from a musical family. My father put together a gospel quartet group with my seven brothers, and when I was old enough, he put me on the guitar at five years old. I wanted to play and be better than my brothers so I learned many of the instruments they played, which included the bass, drums, baritone, and trumpet. I got my first solo in fifth grade playing the "Mo' Better Blues" trumpet solo and fell in love with jazz at nine years old. I was that kid that sat in the house with my CD player listening to jazz music while the other kids played outside. I never had much formal training so I learned listen and play by ear. This has allowed me to play with many bands, churches, and solo artists and I gained a love and passion for performing. I would watch shows like "Black Girls Rock" the Oscars, and other award shows, and would have many daydreams of performing on those stages or with the orchestra.

I knew I needed the musical education and fundamentals that would allow me to get these kinds of playing jobs so I left my full time job as an EMT and came to UNC Charlotte as a full-time music student. There are many challenges of balancing my life as a wife, mother of two, working part-time college student and finding time for self-love, but I am elated that I chose this path, and my husband and children support me 100%.

What kind of career do you hope to have?

I would love to be a touring musician and perform all across the world with other artists and one day as a solo artist. Playing bass and lead guitar is my ministry of limitless possibilities of performing, creating, encouragement, and one day teaching.

What is your favorite thing about UNC Charlotte, the College of Arts + Architecture, or the Department of Music? 

Favorite thing? There are so many, but I can say in the two semesters I have been at UNC Charlotte, I have learned so much and have seen myself grow as an educated and confident musician. I love how the music program allows you real-life experience in an educational setting to build you up, and they have help readily available from instructors and tutors for the best possible outcome.

Do you participate in any community activities or work in the Charlotte arts community?

I play guitar for Greater Works Church in Fort Mill, SC.

When you are not in class, studying, or working, what do you like to do for fun?

I have so much fun with my husband and two children. We love traveling, exploring the outdoors on our bikes, movie and game night, and cooking together, but love when we get to eat out at a new healthy restaurant from time to time.